I love July. It is absolutely my favorite month. This is likely because I’m part lizard (I would be happy spending most of my time lying on a hot rock) and because it’s my birthday month. !!!

Today was a perfect July Saturday. We took a picnic lunch to Centennial Beach and spent most of the afternoon soaking up the sun. After a hot run in the 90 degree heat, coupled with that special exhaustion that comes from a slight sunburn, I was ready to curl up in front of a movie and call it a night. There was only one thing missing from my fun summer day — a yummy frosty treat!

Thanks to my friend Jamie’s recommendation of a new vegan recipe blog, I had a wonderful (and ridiculously easy!!) answer to my craving.

I simply pulsed 1 large frozen banana, a glug of almond milk, a tablespoon of peanut butter and 1/2 tablespoon of cocoa powder in my food processor for a couple of minutes and instantly had a yummy soft-serve ice-cream-like treat. I loved it! And no wonder: I had all the ingredients on hand, it took about 2 minutes to make, and chocolate, peanut butter and banana is basically my favorite flavor combination. Ever.

I think this will become a sunny summer day staple. Yum yum yum.

Julie

